A Day in My Life: Food

I love food.  Like, really love food.  I’m also passionate about nutrition (it’s my favorite area within my degree and I love talking about it) and I make a pretty good effort every day to have a good balance of all of the food groups & different macronutrients.  There are of course, meals that are a little more decadent or days when I eat popcorn for lunch (I really love popcorn!), but it all balances out.  I mean, popcorn is a whole grain…  I thought since I’m on vacation this week (in between work ending and my practicum starting) it might be fun to document a day of food in my life.

8:30 am – Breakfast!  I slept in today because a. I’m on vacation, b. have you ever tried to sleep with a 120 pound Newfoundland laying on top of you? and c. my husband got up at 4:30 to go to the gym and made more noise than a herd of baby elephants learning to walk.

Breakfast was three eggs from my chickens, 1/2  an avocado, salsa and jalapeno hot sauce (that stuff is marvelous).  I wanted to mix it up a little this morning, because I’ve had oatmeal the last two mornings and I’ve been starving less than 2 hours later.  I also had lemon water & tea (sipping this today) before settling in to write some lesson plans with my furry friends.

                      breakfast  puppies

I did a quick workout from Pinterest, because I decided it was way too cold to go outside.  This was in fact a 15 minute workout – I finished in 14:50.  I subbed crunches and static lunges for the jump lunges & squats because my knee is a little irritated.

workout  

Then I had lunch at noon – delicious corn chowder leftovers with seltzer while watching Chicago P.D.  Today has been a super lazy day, so I decided to roll with it and have a nap too!  Glad to see my eggs held me over better this morning!

lunch

Afternoon snack (4:30) was a delicious & decadent chocolate lava cake eaten cold from the fridge.  So rich, but so delicious.  I made three of them last night as a midweek treat for the man & I and while my intentions were to save this one for him, it was calling me in the fridge!  It’s not pretty, but it tasted divine!

snack

I was also doing some dinner prep (Jagerschnitzel & risotto) when my husband called to say his parents invited us over.  At least things are started for tomorrow night. 🙂  We had pulled pork sandwiches and homemade coleslaw at his parents, but I skipped the photo!

One thought on “A Day in My Life: Food

Leave a Reply

