Blueberry Pecan Coffee Cake Muffins

I don’t know what it is lately, but I have been loving muffins.  I have made a batch a week lately, including snickerdoodle, blueberry, and crabapple.  They are just such a great, portable snack or breakfast and who can resist a warm muffin (often dripping with butter)?

This morning, is it overcast and freezing cold in my house.  If that doesn’t call for muffin making, I don’t know what does.  For this morning’s recipe, I went with a blast from the past.  When I was little, my dad would occasionally make me and my brother coffeecake on weekend mornings before skiing, topped with mixed berries and an awesome crunchy streusel topping.  A few weeks ago, when I stopped by my dad’s house, I tracked down his recipe and snapped an iPhone photo of it and this morning, I recreated it, in muffin form.  Instead of mixed berries though, I topped my muffins with frozen wild blueberries Darren & I picked on Squam Lake via jet ski in the beginning of August.  Yum.

IMG_0800

Blueberry Pecan Coffee Cake Muffins
makes 12 muffins

2 cups flour (I use unbleached all-purpose)
1 teaspoon salt
4 teaspoons baking powder
2 eggs
1 cup sugar
1 cup milk
1/4 cup oil
1/2-3/4 cup frozen blueberries

1. Preheat oven to 350.
2. In a small bowl, combine flour, salt, and baking powder.
3. In larger bowl, beat eggs and sugar together. (I used my kitchenaid)
4. Alternately, add milk and flour mixture to eggs until combined.
5. Add oil, combine.
6. Portion evenly into greased or lined muffin tin.
7. Sprinkle blueberries over each muffin (approximately a tbsp on each)
8. Sprinkle streusel evenly over blueberries.
9. Bake 20-25 minutes.  (Mine were 20 exactly)

Streusel Topping
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup chopped pecans (optional)
2 tablespoons flour (I used whole wheat)
1 tablespoon  oil
2 teaspoons cinnamon

1. Combine all ingredients in small bowl. 

 

(Note: in the muffins pictured, I did not use pecans and I swirled the blueberries and streusel into the batter, but I liked them better with the blueberries and streusel on top.)

enjoy! xo

3 thoughts on “Blueberry Pecan Coffee Cake Muffins

  1. biz319

    Wow, those sound great! My Mom used to make these “morning glory” muffins growing up. They were SO good and I thought so healthy. I discovered not too long ago that a batch of 12 muffins called for ONE CUP of oil! Ha! I know you are enjoying the snow!

    Reply
    1. Errign Post author

      Darren’s grandma makes carrot cake and it’s so moist and delicious – I’m afraid to ask for the recipe because I’m positive I don’t want to know how much butter and oil it contains. 😀 Loving the snow, hating the -5 temperatures!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

